Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 18th, 2008

Wow!  What an amazing week it has been.  Wednesday was Scrapfest 2008 and it was incredible.  I spent hours scrappin’ pages and then more hours just organizing my personal stash.  It’s amazing how disorganized things can get when you’re not paying attention.

The truth is, I’m pretty organized in general.  But lately, I’d been letting things go a bit because I just wanted to get stuff done without “wasting” time on putting it all away.  Who knew it would be 4 hours of reorganizing time.

Anyway, the batteries in my camera died and I have to recharge them.  So, as soon as that happens (tonight, I’m hoping), I’ll be posting a pic of the way cool double-page layout I did with the First Day of School pics.  I love it!

Then Thursday, I just couldn’t get all the new tools and gadgets that I stocked in my store out of my head.  So, sometime around 9pm I sat down, dug into my inventory and started fiddling with the new tools and templates. Here’s a run down:

Curvy Cutter Segment Template Set (EK Success):  Don’t even waste your money.  Putting the pieces together and taking them apart is just a complete waste of time.  I like that there’s a large oval template in there that doesn’t need piecing, but is the whole thing worth it for that one piece?  I don’t really think so.

Curvy Cutter Circle Template Set (EK Success): Way cool!  I love this template tool.  Since I opened it and started using it, I’m starting to wonder how I ever lived without it.  It’s easy and no pieces to fiddle with.  Just the template and the cutting blade (sold separately).  If you’re looking for perfect circles with an easy to use gadget, this is a must have.

Cutter Bee Piercing Bugs Rotary (EK Success):  I love the idea of this one.  What a great way to pierce holes for sewing pages.  I happen to LOVE embroidered scrapbook pages (even though I haven’t actually created any yet).  But I didn’t find the little piercing “stems” very sharp, and so they didn’t go through some of my cardstock.  A bit disappointing, but I’m going to keep at it.  I still want a layout with embroidery.

Blade Runner (EK Success):  I absolutely can’t imagine a world without my stencils, but recently, they’ve been pushed them aside for things like alphabet stickers and simply cool phrases stickers for saving time.  In addition, markers don’t work with stencils if the paper isn’t white.  I used to create all my page layouts on white paper, but now my pages are colorful and fun to look at.  So I just stopped using them.  Then I discovered this Blade Runner, which is supposed to cut the shape of the letters out from the stencil (or cut anything from a stencil template).  Unfortunately, it’s not so simple to maneuver.  In fact, I think a craft knife would be simpler and they’re not so simple to use on alphabet stencils.  I may need practice with it, but who’s got time for practice when there are little children running around.

So that’s the tool update.  I can’t wait to share yesterday’s little treasure with you, but it will have to wait until the batteries in my camera are charged and I can share pics with you.  You’re gonna love it!  Especially anyone who has too many pics from one day’s event and doesn’t want to have to choose which pics to use for the layout.  Use them all with this little creation I’ve made!  So, until next time…

Happy Scrappin’!

Read Full Post »